Character Idea Cleric/Wizard – Storyteller – or Master of Cantrips

Forums The Forum Character Idea Cleric/Wizard – Storyteller – or Master of Cantrips

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  DoStuffZ 1 year, 4 months ago.

• Author

Haiduc
    Participant

Hey Guys, I just started listening to your Videos and I think they are great. Thank you!!

I just started playing my first 5e game. Been playing 3.5 for quite a while now.

But I wanted to see how you guys might like the Viability of my Character Idea.

I started out as a Forest Gnome (illusion cantrip)- Wizard Idea. (though High Elf would work probably better because they get any Cantrip)
    Then I started thinking about back grounds – Story Teller – I mean think about a traveling story teller that can actually put illusions into his story making them even more real.
    Of course then I took this a little further and looking at the other cantrips – Prestidigitation – could be used in many thematic ways to add to a story.

Then I looked over at the Cleric Cantrips and saw that they had Thurmaturgy – which would be awesome for Telling a Story.

The Sword Coast book brought in a Domain that gives 2 Extra Cantrips as well.

So here is when I thought about maybe having a Cleric 1 / Wizard X
    if I’m understanding this correctly – I’ll have 3 Cantrips from Cleric, 1 illusion from Forest Gnome, 3 Cantrips from Wizard, and 2 additional cantrips from the Arcane domain.
    I’m thinking about leveling him as a Conjuration Wizard. I’m not certain what this campaign will cap out at – I think transmutation would be better at high end game – but Conjuration would be pretty good through out the middle levels. Having Medium Armor would be a plus I think.
    I doubt that I will get to level 20 on this character – so the downside is minimal – basically I’ll just be a little slower in getting my biggest spells.